Consolidated School Corporation

Our District


All School Board Meetings begin at 6:00 p.m and will be held in the Education Support Center, 2801 Grant Line Road, New Albany, unless otherwise noted.

Meetings are held in public for the purpose of conducting the School Corporation’s business, but should not be considered a public community meeting. There will be public participation only during the “Comments from the Public” portion of the meetings.

The Board of Trustees may revise or add additional meetings to the School Board schedule by providing 48 hours of legal notice.


The Board of School Trustees is a seven-member, elected body charged with the responsibilities of setting overall policy and providing educational programs for children in our schools. The current School Board Trustees are listed below. For more information on running for one of the elected board positions, please visit the Floyd County Clerk’s Office.

From left to right: Connie Baugh, Rebecca Gardenour, Jenny Higbie, Elizabeth Galligan, Thad Neafus, Melanie Sumler Northup, and LeeAnn Wiseheart

From left to right: Connie Baugh, Rebecca Gardenour, Jenny Higbie, Elizabeth Galligan, Thad Neafus, Melanie Sumler Northup, and LeeAnn Wiseheart

Jenny Higbie, President


About Jenny:

Jenny was elected to the School Board in November of 2016. She has served as President, Vice-President, and as a member of the ISBA, Indiana School Board Association’s, Legislative Committee.

Jenny and her husband, Ryan, have 4 children who currently attend schools within our corporation at the elementary, middle, and high school levels.

As an active volunteer in our schools and community, Jenny is committed to improving educational opportunities for all of our students and striving to maintain the high level of excellence for which NAFCS is known.

As a former educator with BA and MS degrees in Education, Jenny has a background in teaching and brings these experiences to her critically important role.

Statement of Purpose:

I have an unending passion for education and will work diligently to maintain New Albany Floyd’s high level of academic and extracurricular excellence. It is with honor that I represent Floyd County and I will continually strive to make decisions that positively impact our students, schools, and community.

Becky Gardenour, Vice-President

District 4

About Rebecca:

Becky has served on the school board since July 2004.  Becky and her late husband, Leonard, are the parents of Abby who graduated from NAHS in 2005, earned her MLS, and is a librarian at Ivy Tech, Columbus.

Becky is a graduate of IUB and retired from Kentucky state government in 2006 after 32 years.  She retired as a supervisor, working in juvenile probation, child protective services, and domestic violence.  Becky also was the CASA Volunteer Coordinator for six years with Catholic Charities.

Becky continues to be active in the community.  She is a member of the Purdue Extension Board, Farm Bureau Board, Altrusa International of New Albany, as well as a CASA volunteer.

Becky is also active with the Indiana School Board Association, recently becoming 2nd Vice-President after serving as Region 10 Director. She was recently appointed by Governor Holcomb to the Next Level Teacher Compensation Commission.

Statement of Purpose

I have been an advocate for children and families for 45 years and will continue to do so for our students, teachers, and staff.  We need to guarantee all students receive an equitable and quality education as well as ensure we are good stewards of taxpayers’ money.   Our community is enthusiastically supportive of our schools.  We need to continue to build on that trust so our New Albany-Floyd County School Corporation remains the premiere school corporation in Indiana.


Connie Baugh, Secretary


About Connie:

Coming Soon

Elizabeth Galligan, Member

District 3

About Elizabeth:

Elizabeth was elected to the School Board in 2016. She has served as Vice-President, President, Board representative to the New Albany Redevelopment Board, and as a member of the Indiana School Board’s (ISBA) Awards Committee and Nominating Committee. She attended Silver Street Elementary, Hazelwood Middle School, and is a graduate of New Albany High School.

Elizabeth and her husband, Mark, have 2 sons.  Peter graduated from FCHS and Prosser and David graduated from NAHS and Prosser. Both are attending college.

Elizabeth attended Northwestern University and Columbia Graduate School of Business and enjoyed a long career in mortgage banking and software development.  She volunteers on the Finance Council at St. Mary’s of Navilleton,  and on the Family Selection Committee with Habitat for Humanity as well as other community activities.

Statement of Purpose:

I am honored to serve the students, staff, and families in our community as a member of the NAFCS board. As a graduate of our schools, it is important to me that we continue to meet the high expectations this community has for our public schools. Our children deserve a broad range of choices in curriculum, the arts, and extracurricular activities. We must prepare the students of today for the opportunities of tomorrow, while maintaining fiscal responsibility.

Lee Ann Wiseheart, Member

District 2

About Lee Ann:

Lee Ann Wiseheart is currently serving her 3rd term (2006-2010, 2014-2018, 2018-current) on the Board of Trustees. She graduated with a Bachelor of Science Degree from IU Southeast, and went on to obtain her Masters degree in Public Administration from Indiana Wesleyan University.

She is currently employed as a Floyd County Adult Probation Officer and the Floyd County Adult Sex Offender Probation Officer. In her free time, Lee Ann is very active in the New Albany Floyd County community. She is the Founder of K.I.P.S. (Kids In Placement Support) 2012, Co-Founder of S.U.R.F. Board (Students United Radically for Floyd County) 2006, and has over 25 years of coaching experience, including elementary, middle, and high school-aged student athletes.

Lee Ann is also part of POPAI (Probation Officers Professional Association of Indiana), National School Board Association, Indiana State School Board Association, a board member for the local Purdue University Extension, and so much more.

Statement of Purpose:

My role as a Board of School Trustees member is to assist in setting the vision and goals for NAFC Consolidated School Corporation; adopt policies that give direction and that prioritize resources for the staff to teach the student’s to achieve academic excellence; hire and evaluate the Superintendent; and adopt and oversee the NAFC Consolidated School Corporation multi-million dollar budget. My passion is to serve this community with honesty, integrity, and with a focus on the highest level of safety for our staff and our students.


Melanie Stumler Northup, Member

District 1

About Melanie:

Coming Soon

Thad Neafus, Member


About Thad:

Coming Soon

Previous Meeting Minutes and Videos

Board Minutes

Please click the below link to view archived board minutes.

June Board Meeting

By the numbers

Footer Notes

16 Facilities

750+ Personnel

23 million Scholarships

11k+ Students

The owner of this website has made a commitment to accessibility and inclusion, please report any problems that you encounter using the contact form on this website. This site uses the WP ADA Compliance Check plugin to enhance accessibility.